Office of the Legislative Chair

Ronald E. Dougherty County Office Building 56 Main Street Owego, NY 13827

Martha Sauerbrey Legislative Chair



PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

May 16, 2020 Contact: Tioga County Legislative Office

TIOGA COUNTY COVID-19 UPDATE – MAY 16, 2020

Owego, NY – Tioga County Legislative Chairwoman Sauerbrey reported the following Tioga County COVID-19 Statistics:

- 122 Confirmed Cases Total confirmed cases, to date.
- **105 Individuals in Mandatory Quarantine.** These are individuals who have had close contact (6 ft.) with someone who has tested positive, but is not displaying symptoms for COVID-19; or individuals that have traveled to China, Iran, Japan, South Korea, or Italy and is displaying symptoms of COVID-19.
- **0** Individuals in Precautionary Quarantine. These are individuals who have traveled to China, Iran, Japan, South Korea, or Italy while COVID-19 was prevalent, but is not displaying symptoms; or is known to have had a proximate exposure to a positive person but has not had direct contact with a positive person and is not displaying symptoms.
- 47 Recovered Total number of individuals who had a confirmed case of COVID-19 and are now symptom and fever-free that meet the criteria to be released from Isolation.
- 20 Deaths

This is a snapshot of data provided to Tioga County Public Health at this point in time. Administered tests are tracked in various ways. Test results are reported.

Chair Sauerbrey reported Chief Judge Janet DiFiore and Chief Administrative Judge Lawrence K. Marks announced that starting next week new cases may be filed electronically and judges and staff will return to courthouses in 30 upstate counties that have met the Governor's established safety benchmarks. This reopening will commence as follows:

<u>Monday, May 18th</u> in the counties of Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Delaware, Schuyler, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, Seneca, Wayne, Wyoming, Yates, Fulton, Herkimer, Montgomery, Oneida, Otsego and Schoharie.

<u>On Wednesday May 20th</u> Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lewis and St. Lawrence counties.

Social distancing and other steps restricting courthouse traffic will be enforced to protect the health and safety of judges and staff, attorneys, litigants and members of the public. The following safety measures will be among those that must be followed in the courthouse.

- Non-employee court visitors will be required to undergo COVID-19 screening before entering the courthouse.
- All staff who interact with court visitors must wear a mask.
- Anyone entering the courthouse will be required to wear a mask, with masks available for those who need one.
- Courtroom and other areas will be carefully marked to ensure proper physical distancing.
- Court facilities will be regularly sanitized.
- Hand sanitizer dispensers will be available throughout the courthouse.
- Acrylic barriers and other safety features will be installed in courthouse areas as needed.

Ronald E. Dougherty County Office Building 56 Main Street Owego, NY 13827

Martha Sauerbrey Legislative Chair



For further information, please refer to the following resources:

- NEW! <u>https://covid19.tiogacountyny.com</u>
- NEW! Tioga County Coronavirus Response Hotline 687-8225
- Facebook @Tioga County Public Health
- Facebook @TiogaMH (Tioga County Department of Mental Hygiene)
- Tioga County Public Health Voicemail Line 687-8623
- NYS Coronavirus Hotline: 888-364-3065 (for general questions or information about COVID-19)
- Tioga County Emergency Food Hotline 607-354-0965

###